How do I pick the best Yes to the Alternative Vote Video

Whilst I’ve been out on the streets of Edinburgh campaigning for a Yes vote in the referendum next Thursday by talking to folk about the advantages of the Alternative Vote and why we should change from First Past the Post, the old fashioned X Voting System other people have been making videos. Dan Snow, Steven Fry, Yes to Fairer Votes, my dad and some Cats have all had a go. There are so many to chose from I’m struggling to decide which is the best video. There are good and bad things about all of them. If only I had some voting system that let me rank the videos in the order in which I like them and them compare my preferences with everyone elses to find the one we think is the best video overall. What’s that you say? There is a voting system that will let me do that. It’s called the Alternative Vote and it’s a simple and effective way to make sure that everyone’s voice is heard. Dammit, that’s so crazily democratic it might just work.

First there is is the Dan Snow Video

It has a good explaination of how the system works and it has Dan Snow in it and I like him. He comes across as wise but still the kind of chap you’d go for a pint with but it promotes drinking beer and I need to lose weight and I can’t drink beer. Mmmh.

Second there is the Stephen Fry video.

It’s got Stephen Fry in it. Stephen bloody Fry and as if that isn’t enough it also explains how simple the Alternative Vote is but I’m not sure about the cartoon and it does have the phrase not fit for purpose which in the Editor’s opinion is not fit for purpose. Also, every has always like Stephen Fry most and I think it might be time for a change.

Thirdly there is the video that the Yes Campaign shot last week in Edinburgh and all round the country.

This one has Eddie Izzard and it’s also got my dad in it! That’s my dad, there, in one of the flicky quick bits.  I like Eddie Izzard, he’s a bit cooler than Stephen Fry and I learnt a lot about politics from my dad. On the down side, my dad isn’t it for very long. He doesn’t get much of a say, there are a lot of people in the video, it’s a broad coalition. Too broad.

I really like this video which is a song by someone I follow on Twitter and quite like.

I like that it is a song with a tune and it’s catchy and I can sing along with it. However, it’s a song about a voting system and I don’t think it has a chance of winning because it’s a bit nerdy for mainstream video watching and it doesn’t have a celebrity in it. I don’t think it has a chance of winning really.

Lastly, there is the infamous cat video.

It’s pretty appealing if you like cats and nothing but cats. However, I hate cats. I’d never want to vote for a cat. Ever.

What a to do.  If only I had a chance to vote for a new electoral system that let me rank these candidates in order of preference. If only I could vote yes to the alternative vote in the referendum on 5th May.

About fairervotesedinburgh

The unofficial blog for the Yes to Fairer Votes Campaign in Edinburgh. All views expressed are our own and do not necessisarily represent the views of the official Yes to Fairer Votes organisation
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How do I pick the best Yes to the Alternative Vote Video

  1. Maurice says:

    Win the cat lovers’ vote, then. I love cats who like a nice hug and purr. It’s not the cats who pose a problem in doing door to door.

Leave a Reply

